Anthony Wayne

Local Schools


Anthony Wayne Local School District News Article

AWHS Fall Athletics Season One for the Record Books

AWHS Fall Athletics Season One for the Record Books

by Aaron He, AWHS Communications Student Intern

The Anthony Wayne Generals undeniably left their mark in the history books, achieving remarkable athletic success during the fall 2023 season. The outstanding performance of the District’s coaches and student-athletes was documented with NLL recognition and several appearances at the state-level of competition. Twelve seniors committed to continuing their athletic careers at the collegiate level at the largest signing event in school history.

golfGolf Greatness

The golf teams swung into action, with the boys' team achieving unprecedented success. NLL and District Champions, the team secured their place as State Finalists for the third consecutive year and ultimately claimed the coveted State Championship. The roster, featuring Michael Distefano, Ted Robertson, Ian Briars, Myles Murphy, and Logan Sutto, showcased exceptional talent and determination under the leadership of NLL Coach of the Year, Pat Phillips.

The girls' team was also coached by an NLL Coach of the Year honoree, Brad Matthews. They finished the season as NLL Runners-Up led by NLL Co-Player of the Year Sophia Stanton, who represented the team competing as an individual in the state tournament.

cross countryCompetitive Cross Country

The 2023 season witnessed the boys' team securing the NLL Championship, led by Connor Long. Long, the NLL, District, and Regional Champion, set a new school record with his remarkable time of 15:12.

On the girls' side, the team emerged as District Champions, with Hailey Kahl earning the title of Regional Champion and State Qualifier. Kahl's academic excellence, along with Connor Long's, earned them Academic All-Ohio honors.

AW’s Craig Smith was named the NLL Cross Country Coach of the Year.

girls soccerboys soccer
Soccer Showcase

Both soccer teams demonstrated skill and tenacity, with the girls' team reaching the NLL Runners-Up and District Finalists position. Lila Simon, named to the NLL First Team and earning All-Ohio Second Team honors, shone as a standout player.

The boys' team, securing NLL Third Place, showcased the talents of Trace Davis and Cian Flagg, both earning NLL First Team honors.

Tennis Triumphs

The girls tennis team claimed the NLL title and saw two doubles teams make a name for the program by making an appearance at the state tournament for the first time in school history. Mara Boyd and Cora Langenderfer etched their names in history as Sectional and District Champions in doubles tennis, just edging out their teammates, Emily Szul and Mallory Rettig who finished as District Runners Up. Both teams qualified for the state tournament with Boyd and Langenderfer finishing fourth in the state. 


Football Victories

Victory Night for Students with Disabilities kicked off the 2023 season by fostering inclusivity in the sports community. The Generals enjoyed great success, clinching the NLL Championship and competing into the third round of postseason playoffs.

Braden Gardner, Winn Sharp, Dillon Robinson, Will Luther, Owen Palmer, Grant Kinnee and Seth Von Lehmden received NLL First Team honors, showcasing their exceptional skills and teamwork.

volleyballVolleyball Triumphs

Volleyball courts saw our teams emerge as NLL Champions and Sectional Champions. Mallory Pike earned the title of NLL Player of the Year, with Chrissy Graven named NLL Coach of the Year.

signing dayCommitted Collegiate Athletes

The commitment of our student-athletes extends beyond the playing fields, as they embark on the next chapter of their athletic journeys at the collegiate level. Their dedication, both on and off the field, has paved the way for exciting futures.

Zachary Bergman - Wrestling, Belmont Abbey College: A powerhouse on the wrestling mat, Bergman's commitment to Belmont Abbey College showcases his talent and determination. 

Lyndsay Borcherdt - Soccer, Oakland University: Borcherdt's skills on the soccer pitch have earned her a spot at Oakland University. 

Braden Curry - Baseball, University of Toledo: Curry's prowess on the baseball diamond has not gone unnoticed. His commitment to the University of Toledo promises an exciting continuation of his baseball journey.

Teagan Ferrington - Soccer, University of Toledo: Ferrington's standout performances on the women's soccer team have earned her a spot with the Rockets.

Hailey Kahl - Cross Country & Track, Ohio State University: Kahl's achievements on the cross country and track courses have garnered her a spot at Ohio State University. 

Abigail Kennelly - Softball, Ohio University: Kennelly's commitment to Ohio University for softball showcases her dedication and talent. 

Emma Knapp - Lacrosse, Limestone University: Knapp's prowess in lacrosse has led her to Limestone University, where she is set to make her mark on the collegiate lacrosse scene. 

Allyson Meyers - Softball, Ohio University: Meyers' skills on the softball field have secured her a place at Ohio University where she will compete as a Bobcat.

Katelyn Meyers - Softball, University of Michigan: Meyers' excellence on the softball field has earned her a spot at the University of Michigan.

Myles Murphy - Golf, University of Findlay: Myles opened the season by competing in the U.S. Junior Amateur Championship and was a part of the state championship team. He will continue his golf career for the Oilers.

Trinity Nowicki - Softball, Kennesaw State University: Nowicki's commitment to Kennesaw State University for softball is a testament to her skills and dedication. 

Logan Sutto - Golf, Butler University: Sutto's achievements on the golf course have led him to Butler University. 

As these student-athletes embark on their collegiate careers, they carry with them the lessons, teamwork, and spirit fostered at Anthony Wayne. Their successes on the collegiate stage will undoubtedly make the District proud, serving as a testament to the foundation laid during their time as Generals.

Print This Article
© 2024. Central Administrative Office.
All Rights Reserved.